Social Networks: The Scoop

Plastic Social Media ButtonI recently came across a good article describing social networks such as Facebook, Google+, Myspace, and Twitter. It covers these Internet computer applications by describing their functions and specialty uses; what a social network is; shared hyperlinks, personal information sharing, adding friends, and the following basic safety tips for using them:

“3 basic tips for using social networks:

  1. What you publish on social networks is nearly impossible to take back or delete.
  2. Be cautious about using social networks along with work. Whether it’s adding colleagues to your list of friends, sharing information about work or using social networks while at work – all of these are risky actions.
  3. If you share any information about your family or close friends, be sure it can’t hurt them or be abused by someone else. Don’t let them become victims of your carelessness.

I recommend adherence to these tips and add that you should avoid using personally identifiable information on your profile pages to help protect you from identity theft. See Target: Social Networking Sites for more information on social networking threat issues.

Reference: PCRX.com article

Be very careful…it’s dangerous out there.

Please comment on this article; we all learn from each other when our views and opinions are shared.

I hope you enjoyed this article. If you enter your email address in the Email Subscriptions box on the right column of this page, I’ll send you an email when a new article is posted. I don’t share your email address with anyone…no one; I hate spam too. Please share my site with your friends and family. Thanks.

Remember, personal computing is a blast…keep it productive and enjoyable.

Best regards,

Paul

paulsinternetsecurity(at)yahoo.com

I’m also on Twitter, @PaulsInternet.

Images courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net and FreeByte.com

6 Comments

Filed under Cybercrime, Facebook, Internet Security, Social Networking

6 responses to “Social Networks: The Scoop

  1. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on various websites for about a year and am
    worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.

    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now 😉

  3. When someone writes an piece of writing he/she
    retains the plan of a user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.

    Thus that’s why this article is outstdanding. Thanks!

What do you think?

