Beware: Facebook Target “US$500 Voucher” Scam

HackersCyber criminals, set to take advantage of Internet shoppers during this holiday shopping season, have launched a Facebook-based survey scam. According to a Help Net Security article, a message is being propagated across Facebook where “users are lured in by friends’ messages saying “Thank you Target!” and offering a link to a page where they can supposedly claim a free $500 Target voucher. Who would say no to that?”

This message has no connection to Target Stores and there are no free vouchers. What will happen if you click on the link is that you will be taken to a malicious website where you will be told that to obtain the voucher, you will need to share the message with all your friends and take a survey. Sharing the message with your friends is the method the criminals use to spread this scam. The survey is an attempt to obtain your personally identifiable information so that they can steal your identity. There is also the high probability that your computer will be injected with malware from this malicious website.

$500 is a great temptation to holiday shoppers who are in need of money at this time of the year. But…in order to avoid being a victim of this scam, you must not share it or click on it’s links. Think before you click, and you’ll have a much happier holiday.

Get more information on this scam here.

Be very careful…it’s dangerous out there.

I hope you enjoyed this article; and if you’d like to receive an email when a new article is posted, please sign up for an email subscription on my home page. Don’t worry…I won’t give your email address to anyone…No One; I hate spam too. Please share my blog with your friends and family. I’m also on Twitter @PaulsInternet .

Paul

Images courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net and FreeByte.com

4 Comments

Filed under Cybercrime, Facebook, Internet, Internet Security, malware, security, Warning

4 responses to “Beware: Facebook Target “US$500 Voucher” Scam

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    both educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something relating to this.

  2. shannon boushon

    I very stupidly clicked on this and now I am locked out of my facebook account. I have scanned multiple times with multiple antivirus softwares and have found no malware or viruses; however, facebook is of no help. I have been locked out of my account for 5 days now. Is there a fix for this?? I have not been able to find anything on line.

What do you think?

