Beware:Facebook Photo Notification

Facebook logoAnother Facebook spam attack is making the rounds—will they ever end? This one poses as a notification from Facebook that says: “Greetings, one of your Friends added a new photo with you to the album.” There is a button which says “View photo with you in the attachment”, that they want you to click so that malware can be placed on your computer via a malicious Internet website. Sound familiar? Yes, it’s the normal technique used by scammers lately. It looks like this:

image

I shouldn’t have to say this, but of course I will…Don’t click on the button. Be wary of such notifications, even if they do say they’re from Facebook, or whatever website you’re using at the time.

In order to stay safe on the Internet we must be ever vigil to requests to click on anything. Be suspicious of everything and think twice…maybe three times, before clicking.

Remember to be very careful…it’s dangerous out there.

Reference: Help Net Security

I hope you enjoyed this article; and if you’d like to receive an email when a new article is posted, please sign up for an email subscription on my home page.  Don’t worry…I won’t give your email address to anyone…No One; I hate spam. Please share my blog with your friends and family. I’m also on Twitter as @PaulsInternetSecurity.

Paul

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Cybercrime, Facebook, Internet Security, Warning

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s