Visa To Offer Encryption Service

Binary on BinaryVisa to offer encryption service…hmm, did anyone besides me assume they were already doing so? You know, so that our credit/debit card transactions would be protected from cyber criminals who can intercept credit card transactions and use the information to steal our money and ruin our credit. Even if they didn’t want to do it because it’s the right thing to do for their customers; you’d think they’d have done it to protect themselves against losses from cyber theft (Visa and other credit card companies are responsible for all loss amounts over US$50).

Maybe the merchants, also Visa’s customers, are technology-phobic and didn’t want to have to deal with the Internet, computers, ciphers and keys when they conduct their business.

According to Wikipedia.org, encryption is the process of transforming information (referred to as plaintext) using an algorithm (called a cipher) to make it unreadable to anyone except those possessing special knowledge, usually referred to as a key.

That’s a pretty scary proposition to folks not especially technology focused. Maybe no one told them that much, if not all, of the encryption operation can be automated and that you don’t have to be a technology guru to make it happen. Just between you and I, most IT professionals don’t understand cryptology either. They just assume it works, and that’s what Visa’s merchants should do too.

So I applaud Visa for offering this service…just don’t know why they took so long to offer it. Any opinions?

Reference: Help Net Security.com 

I hope you enjoyed this article; and if you’d like to receive an email when a new article is posted, please sign up for an email subscription on my home page.  Don’t worry…I won’t give your email address to anyone…No One; I hate spam. Please share my blog with your friends and family. I’m also on Twitter @PaulsInternetSecurity.

Paul

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Visa To Offer Encryption Service

  1. Pingback: Unlock The Secret Options In Windows 7 « What's On My PC

  2. I”m not an expert in this area, but I believe that CCs are serviced by banks and others (including 3rd parties) who either use an old fashion dialup or encrypted Net link. I use Squareup for an organization that I’m associated with, who uses SSL encryption to their servers, encryption at rest and encrypts the path to their servicing party.

    This smells to me to be more of a method to lock merchants into Visa only.

    I would be great to hear from someone with some more concrete info.

    Greg
    http://thefamilyhelpdesk.com

What do you think?

