Internet Security: Facebook Pushing Security!!

Security safe combo knob goldFacebook security!; no, that’s not an oxymoron. Facebook has produced a Security on Facebook page that contains security-related information such as how to spot scams, choosing a one-of-a-kind password, and 7 things you can do to help keep your account safe:

  1. Pick a strong password: Use a combination of at least six numbers, letters, and punctuation marks (like ! and &)
  2. Make sure your email account(s) are secure
  3. Log out of Facebook when you use a computer you share with other people
  4. Run anti-virus software on your computer:
  5. Add a security question to your account (learn how)
  6. Use our extra security features (learn more)
  7. Think before you click or download anything

I’m glad to see that Facebook.com is finally taking some responsibility in promoting security among the Facebook user community. In my opinion, it’s long overdue. Other security tips include:

What can I do to keep my account secure?

How do I reset my password and make sure it’s secure?

How do I add a security question to my account?

I selected “Keep me logged in,” but now I need to change it.

How do I change the password for my login email address?

While basking in the glow of Facebook’s newfound interest in security; I must point out that they have not addressed one important item. They should be reminding their customers that they should be careful how much personal information they enter into their profile and other account information. As I’ve stated before, that personal information is the reason Facebook and other social media sites are a target for cyber-criminals all over the world. They will hack Facebook.com and harvest your personal information to steal your identity, clean out your bank account and max out your credit cards. I encourage all Facebook users to only enter the minimum amount of personal information in their profiles. Items I would not enter are: real name, date of birth, or home address for starters. A criminal could even use the school you attended to grab personal information about you.

So, while I applaud Facebook.com for this security effort, I think they need to consider how much personal information they store…and so do you.

As always, I appreciate your comments on this subject…so please do. And be careful out there…it’s extremely dangerous these days.

Don’t miss an article. If you enter your email address in the Email Subscriptions box on the right column of this page, I’ll send you an email when a new article is posted. I don’t share your email address with anyone…no one; I hate spam too. Please share my site with your friends and family. Thanks.

Home computing is a blast…keep it safe, productive and enjoyable.

Best regards,

Paul

paulshomecomputing(at)yahoo.com

2 Comments

Filed under Internet, security

2 responses to “Internet Security: Facebook Pushing Security!!

  1. Facebook truely needed SSL Certificates and its been a useful thing

What do you think?

