Laptop Computers: Is Yours Overheating?

Laptop gold on blueLaptop computers are very popular these days because of their portability, light weight, and powerful design. I use my laptop computer almost exclusively these days, instead of my desktop or netbook. I use mine on my lap (duh! It’s called a laptop, right?) two hours a day on average. By the way, I use a Dell Inspiron 1764, a 17 inch screen model (I have no affiliation with Dell), and I really like it. However, I noticed that my lap was feeling warmer than usual while using the laptop. Turns out my leg was blocking two of the four air intakes in the bottom of the laptop case…not a good thing to do. As you might expect, the temperature of the laptop increased, and I got worried. You see, overheating will fatigue the computer’s components over time, and cause it’s life span to be shortened. Extremely high temperatures will cause it to fail in a very short time. 

All computers generate heat from the various components in them. However, in desktops there’s more space in the computer’s case to dissipate heat by having more and larger fans, larger air intakes, etc. than in the confined space of a laptop case. Especially the powerful laptops being produced today. So…let’s just say that blocking half of the air intake vents for two hours isn’t a good thing. Since I couldn’t balance my laptop on one leg and write at the same time—I bought a lap desk. Yep, a low tech solution solved the problem. 

Lap desks have a hard surface that allow the laptop’s “feet” to hold it up high enough to provide an airflow into the air intakes (all of them) and the laptop is thus cooled as designed. Lap desks come in many shapes and sizes, from a glorified clipboard; to a thick heavy thing that houses it’s own fans to cool the laptop. The prices I found during my shopping ranged from US$12 to $70, and the one I settled on was $20. I was looking for one that was large enough to hold my “wide body” laptop; light enough that it wouldn’t cut off circulation in my legs; and comfortable to use. I found one at Barnes and Noble Bookstore by Lap Desk Company www.lapdesk.com (again, no affiliations) that is wide enough to comfortably hold my laptop, is very lightweight, and has a comfortable wrist rest. I’m happy, my laptop is happy, and I wanted to share this experience with you.

Let me know your opinion on this subject by commenting on this article; we all learn from each other when our views and opinions are shared. 

If you don’t want to miss an article, enter your email address in the Email Subscriptions box on the right side of the page, and I’ll send you an email when a new article is posted.  I don’t share your email address with anyone…not anyone; I hate spam too.  Please share my site with your friends and family.  Thanks. 

Remember, home computing is a blast…keep it productive and enjoyable.  

Best regards,

Paul

 

paulshomecomputing@yahoo.com

12 Comments

Filed under hardware, home computing

12 responses to “Laptop Computers: Is Yours Overheating?

  1. 387250 152993Im certain your publish and internet website is incredibly constructed 372327

  2. If a person is experiencing an over-heating laptop they should also do a quick internet search using the laptop’s manufacture’s name and the model number. About a year ago I saw an influx of a specific Make and Model number coming through my shop. After the 3rd or 4th one I did some searches. I turned out that the graphics chip on these models had some issues. There were literally thousands of people complaining about this issue. One forum in particular had over 400 unique posts about the issue. Unfortunately in this instance the manufacture didn’t issue a recall, and wanted $399 for the repair. Its worth the search though if you have a warranty on your laptop.

  3. Paul,

    Great article (as always)… I have a netbook and that little bugger gets exceptionally hot. I have seen where PC’s (and notebook’s especially) will overheat and shutdown unexpectedly.

    Rick

  4. Pingback: Laptop Computers: Is Yours Overheating? | Paul's Home Computing Blog :PC & Internet Lifestyle

  5. Pingback: Laptop Computers: Is Yours Overheating? | Paul's Home Computing Blog

  6. Pingback: Technology By Day » Laptop Computers: Is Yours Overheating? | Paul's Home Computing Blog

What do you think?

