Windows XP Users: End of Support Reminder

Desktop PC ComputerThis is a friendly reminder for those of us (I’m running XP on my netbook) who are running the Windows XP operating system on our computers.  Remember that Microsoft will no longer support XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) and prior releases after July 13, 2010.  What does this mean you say?  Basically, it means that Microsoft will no longer update your operating system with enhancements, or more importantly, security-related fixes.

Why, you might ask, is Microsoft doing this to us?  Well…they would tell you that they just can’t keep updating this old operating system when they have Vista and Windows 7 to support.  I can see that as a good reason because they want to control their support costs by eliminating some of their support requirements.  Cynically speaking, they expected most of us to abandon our XP systems to run out and buy Vista or Windows 7…and we didn’t.  That translates to a lower than projected income stream.  Sorry, that was the MBA voice in me coming out; they didn’t make as much money on Vista and 7 as they wanted.  So…they push us off of our current version of XP by cutting out support.  They’re hoping we’ll just plunk down our cash and jump to Windows 7.  And some will, but there’s another option for us die hard XP users; we can upgrade to the latest version of XP, Service Pack 3 (SP3) which Microsoft says they will support through April 2014.

If you need to upgrade to Service Pack 3, you can do so by going to the Microsoft Update website and downloading the latest version of Windows XP; SP3.  Just follow the instructions to check for updates.

By the way, I’m not one of those Microsoft haters that abound among technology types, I run Vista and Windows 7 on two of my other computers; I just don’t like being pushed around, and so I’ll probably go with SP3 on the netbook until I have to change in 2014.

Please comment on this article; we all learn from each other when our views and opinions are shared.

I hope you enjoyed this article.  If you enter your email address in the Email Subscriptions box on the home page, I’ll send you an email when a new article is posted.  I don’t share your email address with anyone…no one; I hate spam too.  Please share my site with your friends and family.  Thanks.

Remember, home computing is a blast…keep it productive and enjoyable.

Best regards,

Paul

paulshomecomputing@yahoo.com

9 Comments

Filed under General Discussion, software

9 responses to “Windows XP Users: End of Support Reminder

  1. Pingback: Hanging on to Windows XP « TTC Shelbyville – Technical Blog

  2. Paul,

    I run one machine on XP Pro, and I agree, SP 3 is the way to go until 2014.

    Given that XP has been around since 2000, that amounts to 14 years of support. I’d like to see someone try to get that level of support for their car, dishwasher, or TV. As well, MS supplies service packs at no cost – not so Apple, who charge an exorbitant amount.

    You’re quite right there are “Microsoft haters”, and as you so rightly pointed out, they are always “among technology types”. I can never figure that one out.

    I’ve been using Windows since version 1, as I’m sure you have, and it’s the best thing to ever come down the Pike for average computer users. Windows is responsible for making computers accessible to the masses, not Apple and OSX

    Nice, relaxed article. I like your style.

    Best,

    Bill

  3. Excellent reminder Paul as many users are still using XP.

    I have it installed on my laptop and one desktop, but also have Vista and Windows 7 on others.

    Love the bit about ‘Microsoft haters’ – so many complain about it but also use it and to be fair, Microsoft Security Essentials is a great program to have and the OS’s are used by millions! I actually like Microsoft as when you dig deeper you uncover so much more 🙂

  4. Pingback: Geek Squeaksof the Week (#64) « What's On My PC

  5. Paul,

    Great that you are reminding us about Windows XP… I too have a netbook with XP installed and will be looking at the options in 2014. Most likely Windows 8 will be out as well : )…

    Rick

What do you think?

