Home Computing Environment

Computing at Home

What does your home computing environment look like?  Some of us use the den, the dining room, the bedroom. And others use a spare room that’s dedicated to using the computer.  Those with a laptop and a wireless network can compute in any room in the house!  I happen to do both.  My desktop computer is in a small room I’ve turned into my home computing room and when I use my desktop; that’s where you’ll find me.  I also have a wireless local area network (LAN) router in that room which allows me to use my laptop anywhere in the house. 

Let me describe my home computing room for you.  It’s not perfect by any means,  but it meets my needs.  Now do me a favor…as you develop your mental image of my home computing room, please, pleeease leave out the constant clutter of paper and notes that are on the workstation (desk).  Thanks. 😉

 It includes my workstation, my desktop personal computer (PC), an LCD display, an all-in-one printer/copier/fax, an Internet connection, power receptacle with four outlets, and an uninterruptible power system (UPS).  By the way, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to have a dedicated circuit to this room—I should do that the next time the electrician is here.  Also in the room is a filing cabinet and storage boxes for my software CDs, connector cables, and anything else I refuse to throw away. Oh! Speaking of storage; I have a 500 gigabyte (GB) portable storage device I use to backup my PC hard drive.

 I’ll refer back to this room in future posts as we explore home computing in more detail.  Of course your home computing environment will depend on what your computing needs and objectives happen to be.

Remember, home computing is a blast…keep it productive and enjoyable.

Best regards,

Paul

paulshomecomputing@yahoo.com

2 Comments

Filed under General Discussion

2 responses to “Home Computing Environment

  1. Paul,
    I am a support technician and frequently called to people’s homes. Your “setup”, as described, is fairly typical.. except I noticed you included a UPS (aka “battery backup”) device in your list. Good move!

    I want to emphasize that (item) for readers, as this is a very important, yet frequently over-looked, part of the “computing environment”. Sudden loss of power can corrupt the OS (Windows), making the computer un-boot-able, and cause data loss; and, power “spikes” can burn out sensitive electronics.

    I look at UPS devices as both a line of defense against “major bummers”, and a “insurance policy”.. as well as a “must have”.

    PS – I also applaud the 500 GB storage + data backup plan. I have urged people ’till I’m blue in the face but.. in all my while in business, and out of all my clients, so far, two had recent backups of their irreplaceable photos/tax records/paid-for music+videos/etc..
    I have kind of given up on that “must do” … but what the hey: Dear Reader, have you backed up your files yet?

    • TechPaul,
      I can tell by your recognition of those best practices that you’re a real pro and your clients are lucky to have you. Keep reminding them. They will eventually see the light…you know the old saying: “pay me now or pay me later” is very true. Spending some money on a battery backup and trying harder to form the backup habit is alot less expensive than recovering from the damage of “major bummers”.
      Best,
      Paul Lubic

What do you think?

